Oh Mother

Today after a run in with a Charter (a smaller version of Comcast) salesman I thought to myself I should take the chance to learn from my mother.

You see my mom was the pre-screen queen when I was younger. She pre-screened calls either through voice mail or myself requesting to know who it was and at times directing me to reply that she was not at home. She also pre-screened unplanned visits, having me go to the door and look in the peep-hole to see who it was or she’d look out the window motioning at me to be quiet.

Even at a young age justice shook in my bones hahaha. I would get upset after having to lie to someone telling them she wasn’t home or pretending we weren’t in the house.

However!!! After today my mind has been changed. I do still think it’s wrong to have someone lie and tell the person on the phone you’re not present. Just say I’m busy, I can’t talk at this moment or I don’t want to talk right now. There is no such thing as a “little white lie”, fabricating so-called little things just eases the habbit to lie more often and make up “larger” lies.

Yet, I think I am swayed by the not answering the door thing. If you’re on your property inside your property: you pretty much have the lay of the land to do whatever you desire. One of those things being not opening the door if you don’t want to. Sometimes you just don’t want to politely go back and forth with the passing sales person or the Jehovah’s witness couple . . .

I wish I hadn’t opened the door today.

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Oh Mother

  1. this is good. i hate to lie now…even small ones. I find myself going back and correcting myself bc i use to white lie too often

Leave a comment